PDA

View Full Version : Battery feedback.....

fredfordguy
04-25-2013, 08:25 PM
I've gotta put a bettery in our car, so far we have stuck with Die Hards with good results. Looking to possibly an Optima, anybody used one of these? I would welcome any recomendations, not concours concerned...Thanks....

whtmare
04-25-2013, 08:59 PM
I've only heard people rave about optimas and the colors look sweet !! Defintaly will be my choice when the time comes.

LILBLKSNAKE
04-25-2013, 09:43 PM
Optimas aren't what they used to be. If you can get a Motorcraft, mine lasted 12.5 years in my COBRA

ToplessPony94
04-25-2013, 09:49 PM
Mike, I'm with you. I've been using Diehards for over 40 years and never, ever had one let me down. I thought about Optima last time I needed a battery, researched it and talked to people who had them and then bought another Diehard. As for the Motorcraft, the one that came in my car when it was new lasted a little over 4 years and then shorted out so completely that when I jumped it to get it started, the engine died the instant the jumpers were disconnected. I got a Diehard and never looked back.

Dennis O'Shea
04-26-2013, 08:13 AM
I don't think you can go wrong with a Die Hard also have heard that Interstate is also good have never had one

TorchredSVT
04-26-2013, 09:00 AM
Motorcraft....end of discussion

no , seriously though..they are kick ass batteries. As Ed mentioned, i have seen too many horror stories online with Optima, really hit or miss. Not worth the price to me.

390gtconv
04-26-2013, 10:08 AM
I used to follow Consumer Reports and their battery testing. Diehards (as said) for years top of the list until a couple years ago when Autozones DURALAST battery took top spot. Diehards dropped to # 2. I too grew up with many Diehards but big believer in testing data, facts. I have a couple Duralast in my daily drivers, run fine. So I'd say either of the above you can't go wrong. I've also own Motorcraft with good luck but not sold everywhere.